My Blog Adventure

Learning about blogging was a bit of a stretch, at first.  I felt that my mind was in a salty water taffy machine for a good 3 hours as things started to come together on wordpress.com.  But I found some good information, and I’d love to share it with you.

The first blog that I came across that seemed full of good information was written by Jennie and seemed all about the importance of storytelling when it comes to instructional design.  She has a neat slide show that portrays the importance of stories to pass on information in a way that people will remember and understand.  The blog also talks about the importance of jumping right in and not boring your learning audience in order to keep people engaged.

As it looks like she herself does Instructional Design for clients, I feel that her blog is a great resource for anyone interested in consulting or creating training materials. You can find her at http://nimblenarrative.com/2014/10/31/story-based-instructional-design-session/comment-page-1/#comment-7 .

 

The next blog I would like to talk about is Shauna’s interesting take on how to respond to negative feedback.  Although I wouldn’t say exactly what was recommended in the post, it gives me an outlet for frustrations of my own when people put down all the effort I put into creating a learning resource.  Maybe I can take what she says and translate it into a creative way to get my co-workers to appreciate what we do as ID people.

Of course, she has many other informative posts to read through.  She talks about the importance of putting forth a quality product, but also reflects on how speed is vital to compete for different contracts.  I especially like her reflection on how to remember to reheat pizza from Pizza Hut.  It may seem rather silly, but I never even realized the instructions were on the box.

You can read about her adventures at http://shaunavaughan.wordpress.com/2014/10/29/10-things-instructional-designers-hate-to-hear/

 

My final post of interest was a fascinating take on the importance of audio when designing curriculum.  We live in a busy world, and there are many times that we just don’t have the time to watch a presentation.  In this post, the author talks about the importance of keeping things interesting with scripted narratives, humor, and even mock commercials.  By tying all these elements together, you can create a powerful learning tool that people can listen to anywhere they have access to a media player.

The blog goes on to share many recommendations about designing media, and with 20 years of experience in the field, I think that I need to keep this one as a reference also.  I can already envision how much easier it would be to “listen” to a funny infomercial on safety in my car, rather than to sit for 20 minutes and watch a sober slide show.

Be sure to check it out at http://enarration.com/2014/10/23/creating-audio-based-media-programs-for-learning/ .

Standard

Leave a Reply

