The more I learn, the less I know.

Theories do not stand for all time (Ormrod, 2009), and in my case, my theory on how I learn has changed on a weekly basis.  Whereas before I thought that I could just classify my life into different boxes, I now feel that we are constantly learning and making decisions on an unconscious level, many of which we may not cognitively understand.

I think that I would tend to prefer constructivism, in general, because it acknowledges that importance on unobservable events on human behavior (Jenkins, 2006) and allows more room for creativity.  Even now, I have been able to apply this knowledge to my own workplace environment.  Some of my co-workers and I have wrestled with trying to understand how certain individuals are able to blatantly lie and attack people while continuing to think that they are very peaceful citizens of the church.  However, because of this class I feel that I can see how someone can have a compulsive lying disorder (Esposito, 2014) and yet not even realize it.  I think it boils down to the working memory that doesn’t necessarily lead to long term memory but is later dumped (Ormrod, 2009).

Another way my thoughts have changed is in understanding that there are possibly numerous intelligences that are not given the proper credit in our society.  We read that certain individuals have difficulty remembering faces, but can recall what was said (Armstrong, 2009).  I have a very similar problem in that I can remember faces but have difficulty remembering names.  While I was raised to think that my abilities made me superior to others, I now have a different perspective that everyone is equal in value when it comes to being useful to society.  I guess that way of thinking would classify me as an Egalitarian (Arneson, 2013).

As for the way technology affects learning, I think it’s most valuable impact in our world will be in changing the way we pass on information.  Accessibility to the Internet is sparking profound changes in traditional teaching methods (Consortium, 2014), and I think we have only caught a glimpse of what this new way of sharing and preserving knowledge will enable us to accomplish in the future.  However, in order to embrace that future, I think we need to realize that it will come with a cost.  We will have to let go of the old way of doing things and adapt ourselves to embrace these changes.

From this class, we have studied about different learning methods and how they can help us to learn more effectively.  The hard part, for me, will be taking this knowledge and applying in to my daily life in order to become a better person.  Unfortunately, there is no pill for effort, and so our success or failure in the future will most likely continue to rely on us as individuals “punching the clock” (Kipfer, 2007).

References:

Ormrod, J., Schunk, D., & Gredler, M.  (2009).  Learning theories and instruction.  New York:  Pearson.  Course Text.

Jenkins, J.  (2006).  Constructivism.  Encyclopedia of educational leadership and administration.  Retrieved from http://knowledge.sagepub.com.ezp.waldenulibrary.org/view.edleadership/n121.xml

Esposito, K.  (2014).  Compulsive Lying Disorder.  Lovetoknow.  Retrieved from http://addiction.lovetoknow.com/wiki/Compulsive_Lying_Disorder.

Armstrong, T.  (2009).  Multiple intelligences in the classroom.  Alexandria, VA.  Retrieved from the Walden Library database.

Arneson, R.  (2013).  Egalitarianism.  Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.  Retrieved from http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/egalitarianism/.

The New Media Consortium.  (2014).  NMC Horizon Report >2014 K-12 Edition.  The New Media Consortium Publications.  Retrieved from http://www.mnc.org/publications.

Kipfer, B., Chapman, R.  (2007).  punch the clock.  Dictionary.com.  Retrieved from http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/punch+the+clock.

Standard

Leave a Reply

